Thursday, April 9, 2009


Virgo is the sixth astrological sign in the Zodiac, originating from the constellation of Virgo. In western astrology, the sign is no longer aligned with the constellation as a result of the precession of the equinoxes. In astrology, Virgo is considered a "feminine", negative (introvert) sign. It is also considered an earth sign and is one of four mutable signs. Virgo is traditionally ruled by the planet Mercury, but Ceres and several other planets have been suggested as the ruler of Virgo by some modern astrologers. Being the sixth sign of the zodiac, Virgo has been associated with the astrological sixth house.
Individuals born when the Sun was in this sign are considered Virgo individuals. Under the tropical zodiac, the Sun is in Virgo roughly from August 24 to September 22, leaving it at the moment of autumnal equinox by definition. Under the sidereal zodiac, it is currently there roughly from September 17 to October 17. The Sanskrit name of Virgo in Hindu astrology is Kanyā.

No comments:

Post a Comment